The cost to upgrade an electrical panel in the US usually runs from about $800 to $4,000, depending mostly on the size of the panel. Add a permit, hard access or utility work and the total can climb fast. This guide pulls together what five cost guides say, shows where they disagree, and explains what you are really paying for, so you can judge a quote with confidence.
Quick Answer: Electrical Panel Upgrade Cost in 2026

This Old House (March 2026) lists $800 to $1,500 for a 100 amp panel and $2,000 to $4,000 for a 400 amp panel, installed. HomeAdvisor’s older 2022 data lists $500 to $4,000 across the same sizes. Lehmann Electrical says most jobs cost $519 to $2,184, with an average of $1,341. The price rises if the utility must change the meter or service line, which Rewiring America says can reach $5,000 to $25,000. The common 200 amp job has its own guide, linked below.
How Much Does It Cost to Upgrade an Electrical Panel by Amp Size?
Size is the first thing that moves the price. Your electric panel upgrade cost goes up with amp size, because bigger panels cost more and take longer to wire. Here are two published tables side by side. This Old House updated its figures in March 2026. HomeAdvisor’s data dates from 2022, so read it with care.
| Panel size | This Old House (March 2026) | HomeAdvisor (2022 data) |
|---|---|---|
| 100 amps | $800 to $1,500 | $500 to $1,500 |
| 150 amps | Not listed | $500 to $1,750 |
| 200 amps | $1,300 to $3,000 | $750 to $2,000 |
| 300 amps | $1,800 to $3,500 | Not listed |
| 400 amps | $2,000 to $4,000 | $1,500 to $4,000 |
These ranges cover the panel and installation. They leave out the permit and most extras. Most people want to know about one job in particular. Our guide to the cost to upgrade electrical panel to 200 amps covers it in detail.
Average Cost to Upgrade an Electrical Panel: What Five Guides Say
| Source | Updated | Range stated | Average or typical |
|---|---|---|---|
| This Old House | March 2026 | $800 to $4,000 (100 to 400 amps) | $2,150 (midpoint of its 200 amp range) |
| Lehmann Electrical | October 2026 | Most jobs $519 to $2,184 | $1,341 average |
| SubcontractorHub | 2026 | $1,500 to $4,000 (100 to 200 amp); $3,000 to $7,500 (200 to 400 amp) | Not stated |
| HomeAdvisor | July 2022 | $500 to $4,000 (100 to 400 amps) | $1,300 average; most jobs $520 to $2,124 |
| Rewiring America | Not stated | $2,000 to $4,000 (typical panel upgrade) | $5,000 to $25,000 if the utility must upgrade service |
The averages cluster between $1,300 and $2,150, but the ranges are wide. Guides cover different scopes, regions and years. HomeAdvisor says its figures come from 23,443 member surveys, but the page is dated 2022. When two guides disagree, ask which work each one includes.

What You Are Paying For
- Labor. HomeAdvisor lists electricians at $50 to $100 per hour and says a typical swap takes 4 to 8 hours. Lehmann Electrical puts labor at $1,000 to $3,000 or more, and says it is where most of the bill goes.
- The panel itself. HomeAdvisor lists $50 to $500 depending on amp size. Lehmann Electrical says to plan on $250 to $450.
- Permit and inspection. This Old House lists $50 to $300. HomeAdvisor says you need a permit in most cases for a new panel, a move or an amp upgrade.
The panel is the small part. Labor, testing and paperwork are the bulk of the price.
Upgrading Electrical Panel Cost: Extras That Raise the Price
The base price is rarely the final price. These are the extras that show up most often.
| Extra | Published range | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Subpanel | $400 to $1,750 | This Old House, HomeAdvisor |
| Move the panel | $800 to $3,000 | This Old House (HomeAdvisor: $1,000 to $3,000) |
| Meter box, installed | $1,800 to $3,500 | This Old House |
| Hard-to-reach panel | $300 to $800 | SubcontractorHub |
| Code updates the inspector requires | $200 to $600 | SubcontractorHub |
| New 240 V EV charger circuit | $400 to $800 | SubcontractorHub |
| AFCI or GFCI breaker, each | $30 to $60 | HomeAdvisor, This Old House |
| Replace a Federal Pacific or Zinsco panel | $1,500 to $4,000 | HomeAdvisor |
| Fuse box to breaker panel | $1,500 to $4,500 | HomeAdvisor (2022) |
| Drywall repair | $300 to $900 | HomeAdvisor |
Meter box prices show how far guides can differ. This Old House lists $1,800 to $3,500 installed, while HomeAdvisor’s 2022 data lists $200 to $800. Ask your electrician exactly what work is in your quote.
Cost of Upgrading Electrical Panel When the Utility Is Involved
Sometimes the panel is only part of the job. HomeAdvisor lists a new service entrance cable at $1,000 to $1,500 for overhead lines and $5,000 or more if the lines are underground. It says the utility usually does this work, so call them for an estimate. Rewiring America says a service upgrade or transformer replacement can cost $5,000 to $25,000, and utility scheduling can add months in some regions.
Most homes never need this. But it is the largest single reason a final bill beats an online estimate, so ask early.

Panel Replacement vs Upgrade vs Subpanel
- Replacement. A new panel with the same amp rating. HomeAdvisor says jobs that keep the same amperage and wiring cost the least.
- Upgrade. A larger panel, such as 100 to 200 amps, often with new breakers and sometimes new service parts.
- Subpanel. A smaller panel fed from the main one, used when the main panel is full. Subpanels run $400 to $1,750.
- Fuse box to breaker panel. A bigger job, because old homes may need rewiring. HomeAdvisor lists $1,500 to $4,500.
Federal Pacific and Zinsco panels deserve special mention. HomeAdvisor says they have design flaws that could cause fires, and recommends calling a pro to replace them as soon as possible.
Why Electrician Quotes Differ From Online Estimates
A quote beats an online range for good reasons.
- Scope. One quote may include the permit, meter work and code fixes, and another may not.
- Old data. HomeAdvisor’s figures are from 2022. Labor and parts have moved since.
- Local code. Lehmann Electrical, a Wisconsin electrician, says the state adopted the 2023 National Electrical Code from September 2026. It says that can mean more protective breakers and enforced clearance around the panel.
- Access. A panel in a finished basement takes longer to reach.
- Utility work. It can sit outside the electrician’s price.
Ask for an itemized quote, and compare line by line.
Do You Need to Upgrade Your Electrical Panel?
HomeAdvisor lists signs that point to an upgrade: a panel under 100 amps, physical damage, frequent tripping, flickering lights, an indoor box, or a home over 20 years old with no upgrade. Rewiring America adds that many homes with 100 to 150 amp panels can add an EV charger or heat pump without one, with some planning. Ask an electrician for a load calculation before you spend the money.
HomeAdvisor also says an upgrade may not raise your home’s value directly, but buyers want a safe home.
How to Save Money on a Panel Upgrade
- Get at least three quotes from licensed, insured electricians.
- Bundle the work with an EV charger or heat pump install.
- Ask about smart load management or efficient appliances, which can avoid an upgrade.
- Clear access to the panel before the crew arrives.
- Never do it yourself. Panel work is dangerous and needs a permit.
Estimate Your Own Cost
Want a number for your own job? Try our electrical panel upgrade cost calculator. It shows a low, typical and high range for the US and UK, and compares your quote to the published range.
If you need to spread the cost, compare repayment options with Loan Analytics Pro.
Sources and Method
We opened each source below and copied only the ranges it states. Where guides disagree, we show both. We did not use regional multipliers because we could not find a source for them.
- This Old House: What Is the Cost to Upgrade an Electrical Panel? (updated March 2026)
- Lehmann Electrical: How Much to Upgrade an Electrical Panel? 2026 Cost Guide
- SubcontractorHub: Electrical Panel Upgrade Cost Calculator
- HomeAdvisor: How Much Does It Cost to Upgrade or Replace an Electrical Panel? (updated July 2022)
- Rewiring America: Pros and cons of a panel upgrade
Disclaimer
This guide gives estimates for planning only. It is not a quote or electrical advice, and it cannot see your home. Only a licensed electrician can quote your job. Electrical work can cause shock and fire. Check permit and code rules with your local building department.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does an electrician charge to upgrade an electrical panel?
HomeAdvisor lists $50 to $100 per hour, and a typical swap takes 4 to 8 hours. Lehmann Electrical puts total labor at $1,000 to $3,000 or more, plus $250 to $450 for the panel.
Which panel size costs the most to upgrade?
Bigger panels cost more. This Old House lists $800 to $1,500 for 100 amps and $2,000 to $4,000 for 400 amps. The common 200 amp job has its own guide, linked above.
Do I need a permit to upgrade an electrical panel?
HomeAdvisor says yes in most cases, such as a new panel, a move, an amp upgrade or a subpanel. This Old House lists permits at $50 to $300. Check with your local building department.
How long does a panel upgrade take?
HomeAdvisor says 4 to 8 hours. Lehmann Electrical says one to three days including inspection. Utility scheduling can add months in some regions, according to Rewiring America.
Can I upgrade an electrical panel myself?
No. HomeAdvisor warns that the risks are too many, including shock and code problems. Hire a licensed electrician who pulls the permit.



